Nepal Vs Malaysia । Nepal Wins Again In The Second T-20

Nepal Vs Malaysia । Nepal Wins Again In The Second T-20
Photo. MCA

Malaysia couldn’t chase down the target of 174 runs and had to kneel down against Nepal in the second match of Nepal vs Malaysia T20I Bilateral series 2019 which was held at Malaysia, Kinrara Oval today.

Binod Bhandari scored an unbeaten half-century and result, Nepal defeated Malaysia by 6 runs.

Winning the toss, Nepal elected to bat first and scored 173 runs with 4 wickets in hand. Binod Bhandari became the leading high scorer for Nepal scoring 51 runs in just 25 balls. Similarly, Sharad Veswakar racked up 40 runs in 28 balls.

Captain Paras Khadka, Rohit Paudel, Karan Kc and Pawan Sarraf scored 23 runs,19 runs, 16 runs, and 10 runs respectively. But Gyanendra Malla and Sompal Kami could only make the single-digit runs.

Nepal Vs Malaysia । Nepal Wins Again In The Second T-20
Photo. Paras Khadka Facebook

For Malaysia, Fitri Sham was the pick of a bowler taking 3-27, while Syed Aziz and Sharvin Muniandy shared two wickets giving away 24 and 39 runs respectively.

While chasing the target, Syed Aziz and Amunnidin contributed 50(37) and 24(11) runs respectively. Similarly other players like Muhamad, Faiz and Sharif helped Malaysia contributing 21, 17, and 10 runs respectively.

To lead Nepal into victory, Sompal kami bowled for 2-25 runs, While right-arm leg spinner Sandeep Lamichhane took 2 wickets but remained very expensive since he spared 38 runs in just 4 overs.

Winning both the first and second match of the bilateral series, Nepal has won this series.

If we lookup this tour deeply, the series seems to be very unfair to Malaysia since Nepal ranks at 11th position in the ICC Twenty20 International ranking while Malaysia is at 35th position.

However, these two sides are preparing for the ICC T20 World Cup Asian Regional Finals Qualifier which is to be held between July 22-28 in Singapore. So this series was quite planned to help both the nations for strategy making and fine preparation before the qualifier.

Qatar, Kuwait, and Singapore are other three teams in the tournament and the table topper will be sent into the 14 teams Twenty20 World Cup Global Qualifiers which is to be held in October and November at UAE.

And the top six nations from the qualifier will be participating in the WorldCup which is to be held in Australia next year.

This is how Captain Paras Khadka reacted on his Facebook Handle.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here